Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Rooms

From Goodreads:
 The New York Times bestselling author of Before I Fall and the Delirium trilogy makes her brilliant adult debut with this mesmerizing story in the tradition of The Lovely Bones, Her Fearful Symmetry, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane—a tale of family, ghosts, secrets, and mystery, in which the lives of the living and the dead intersect in shocking, surprising, and moving ways

Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family—bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton, and unforgiving daughter Minna—have arrived for their inheritance.

But the Walkers are not alone. Prim Alice and the cynical Sandra, long dead former residents bound to the house, linger within its claustrophobic walls. Jostling for space, memory, and supremacy, they observe the family, trading barbs and reminiscences about their past lives. Though their voices cannot be heard, Alice and Sandra speak through the house itself—in the hiss of the radiator, a creak in the stairs, the dimming of a light bulb.

The living and dead are each haunted by painful truths that will soon surface with explosive force. When a new ghost appears, and Trenton begins to communicate with her, the spirit and human worlds collide—with cataclysmic results.

Elegantly constructed and brilliantly paced, Rooms is an enticing and imaginative ghost story and a searing family drama that is as haunting as it is resonant.


From Me:
Wasn't my favorite.
It was just okay.
It was confusing for me... I couldn't keep track of who was alive, who was dead/ghosts  and who was just dead/dead.
And I didn't like any of the characters.  I couldn't connect with one of them.
They were all depressing.
This could be just me, as I know the author has a huge YA following.
2 stars from me.

We read this for our Library Book Club.
The consensus was this...
6 people present
1 would recommend it
4 would recommend with reservations
1 would not recommend it 

I fell into the middle---
I wouldn't tell anyone not to read it, but just that it wasn't that good. 
For me.



 

1 comment:

bermudaonion said...

I don't think this would be for me either.

Friday Friend Recipe #153 -- Crock Pot Meatloaf

Come with me as I continue to countdown my Friday Friend Cookbook! What is it, you may ask? In a nutshell... About 17 years a...